Why I love January

January 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

Two reasons. The first, it’s my birth month (yea me!) The second, it’s the dead of winter. When writers and photographers talk or write about “the dead of winter” I imagine they are talking about January.  It’s an extreme month.  Little light, a lot of gray and this year, so far, it has brought on the winter ice storm of 2011.  Which forced me to clean and organize my garage, thank you very much.  This is a month that really tests people. From the extreme weather conditions to the resolutions you made on the first day.  I have made a few resolutions.  One is to stop using plastic bags from the grocery.  I’m buying a reusable bag pronto.  As for my cat poo that usually goes into the plastic bags, it’s now going into brown lunch bags. Yes I know that comes from trees but I have to knock it off with the plastic.  It’s terrible.  I went to the landfill not long ago and it was a real eye-opener to see all those plastic bags.

I have also started using a huge reusable water bottle so I don’t have to buy water bottles.  The water comes from my tap goes into the big glutton and voila!  Money Saved, environment saved, my insides are getting hydrated which is good for me so then i’m sticking to the other resolution of being more “healthy,”  (whatever that means) and I don’t have the catholic guilt of  that I could be doing more.

Speaking of doing more I have some fantastic news! I have a new vendor who goes under the monitor of {M}  More vintage clothes and a ton of 80’s jewelry.  I also have three coach bags that she brought in. They won’t stay long at the price and condition they are in so come in a check them out. It’s a great addition to all the strictly 50’s and 60’s vintage items from this ol’ thing.

All month long I will be bringing in new furniture items and dishes.  My camera is marooned at the store so later in the week we will have photos!!! Til then you must use your imagination 🙂  We still have fingerless gloves and knit hats to keep you warm in the dead of winter.

I would like to thank Mary Tubbs for holding a fundraiser at the store last Saturday for the Darius Project.  Those photos will also be posted later in the week.  All month long Well that’s cool (wellthatscool.com) Will be raising money for the project that brings awareness for Muscular Dystrophy.  I will be selling the DVD Darius Goes West all month long to support the cause!

Til my next post, keep warm and trudging through the dead of winter!

Grace

 

§ One Response to Why I love January

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I love January at grace aberdean.

meta

