“Daft Punk is playing at my house, at my house…….”

August 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

A little homage to lcd soundsystem. So a lot of you ask me what does my house look like so I thought I’d post a few photos of the clean parts of my home 🙂

some plants in the front yard

I plant drought tolerant plants along with some not so drought tolerant plants in pots to add texture to my front yard

These are a few plants I have in my front yard. I live in a garden home. I know, gasp!!! but I really love it. It’s a great size, I dig the layout and my neighborhood is really small. You’ll know it’s my house by all the plants in pots out front. The soil here is crapola. It’s fill dirt and half the time its so wet because it doesn’t drain and everything rots. So to combat that I plant a lot of high drought tolerant plants in pots. The lady who owned the house before me put down the cement and it had pea gravel around it so I just put grass seed in the pea gravel to have grass there instead. The oversized cracked pot is just that. I saw it in someone’s yard for the garbage and stopped and picked it up because I thought it would look really cool with a plant growing out of it!

Sputnik light fixture that I salvaged

This is my light fixture at my front door that I salvaged from my dad’s scrap yard when I worked there. I saw it on a truck and because it is brass I knew the customer was going to turn it in across the street at the metals warehouse. I radioed my brother in law and told him to please, please! put the light fixture to the side for me. When he came across the street he was holding the light fixture that was broken in half and three of the arms were off and the others were just hanging there. He looked at me and said, “this is what you wanted?” I said “YES!” I scooped up the pieces and took it to lighting plus and they put the little guy back together for me, re-wired it and even treated some of the new parts to make them look like the old ones! And i think it may have cost me $60. total.

Dinning Area

So this is where I eat. I don’t have a formal dinning area and a kitchen table like you’d have in bigger homes so I wanted to make my area a little more on the formal side with the vintage chandelier but keep it a little casual with my big wood table that I got handed down to my from my dad. The chairs are ones that I got from an estate sale that still need to be reupholstered but I love the shiloutte of them and the wall paper, YES WALLPAPER! is some that I picked out. It’s of cherry blossoms and it has an iradescent silver throughout to make it sparkle and to bring it up to date.

Storage!

So this is storage in the kitchen. The buffet piece I found in a thrift store and fell in love with it!!! My older sister wasn’t too impressed but whatever! The tray on the right is a present from my sister. It is a marimekko tray that i just love. On top are vintage glasses. The ice bucket owl is vintage, the martini glasses are a gift from my friend cristalle. The art on the walls are two pieces that I got from the Kentuck festival. The planter peanut salt and pepper shakers are two items that I got when I was a freshman in college and I went home with my roommate to fort payne, where she is from. I just knew when I found a house they would look neat!

Well I hope you guys enjoyed these photos and I will post more as soon as I vacuum and dust!!! If you have any questions please post and I’ll be more than happy to answer!!!

Happy Decorating!!!
Jamie
aka Gracie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Daft Punk is playing at my house, at my house…….” at grace aberdean.

meta

