INTERVIEW with artist LUMI9

September 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

One of the greatest things about owning a gallery is that I get to talk to artists one on one. I love to ask questions. My thirst on what makes people tick is insatiable! Here is my interview with artist Lumi9. His work is on display (and for sale!) in the gallery all month.

Name
Lumi 9

What college did you attend? What was your major?
I received my B.F.A. in painting at the Kansas City Art Institute in Kansas City, Missouri.

What made you decide to choose that major?
I think I decided the major I would study after I painted my first few paintings in my first class solely dedicated to the subject in college. It seemed obvious to me that this denomination of creativity cast the widest net in terms of imaginative possibilities.

Were your parents supportive?
Yes, I believe my parents were always very supportive. But the awkward talks circling around the explanation of my future plans and why those plans wouldn’t mean disquieting financial uncertainty never ended.

How have you grown as an artist from graduating school to now?
I think the major difference is that I now actually see myself as one. When I was in school, I had no intention of ever being an exhibiting artist. Being in art school itself was my goal and the limit of my plans to that point. I think now, almost because of that perspective, my working habits weren’t wholly dedicated to the integrity of the final product.
Everything has changed now.

What inspired your body of work now hanging at Grace Aberdean? Explain the medium and basically how you feel/felt about the body of work you created. Feel free to elaborate.
There is a variety of work on display right now made over the course of over a year, so there are a variety of inspirations: biology, synaesthesia, comics, images found on the street. Some are as straightforward as the model I see during a figure drawing session, as can be seen in the assortment of small drawings I have. One big influence that had its affects on the later pictures was a trip to Belgium this summer where I was able to see a host of Early Netherlandish Painting, which I felt rhymed with my tendency to ornate the particulate.

Media-wise I use acrylic paint, markers that dispense India ink, technical pens and nibs, gouache, and watercolor on hardboard, canvas, paper and skateboard. The differences in media are meant find breaks in the impediment of habit disgising artistic essence.

How do I feel about the work?

I enjoy the works I have on display.

I believe it to be a diverse body of art that bespeaks a developed individuality attempting to avoid loss of democratic value. Hopefully I’ve maintained that.

What are you working on now? What is inspiring you right now?
Right now I’m working on a group of paintings on canvas following up with the final two pictures of this show.

Inspiration-wise: graffiti, the Flemish masters, travel photos from Belgium, delta blues, bad art, and the book “Paths to the Absolute” by John Golding has been my most recent library check-out.

Any words of encouragement for the general public?
Art puts hair on your back, then shows you how to comb it. I find that encouraging.

One last question. Everyone asks about your name lumi9. Would you care to explain or let us come to our own conclusions?
I don’t actually know what it means, but it describes me perfectly.

Thanks, Darick!
(LUMI9)

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading INTERVIEW with artist LUMI9 at grace aberdean.

meta

